decorative banner image

Education and Training Vouchers for Current and Former Foster Youth


Education vouchers are federal funds made available to states through the Chafee Foster Care Independence Act. Education vouchers are intended to help current and former foster care youth pay for postsecondary education.

Who is Eligible?

Youth must be under age 26 by the application due date and accepted into an accredited postsecondary education institution or training. Youth must also meet ONE of the following criteria:

  • You were in foster care for 30 consecutive days between your 17th and 18th birthday.
  • You were adopted from foster care after your 16th birthday.
  • You were in foster care on or after your 16th birthday when a relative accepted a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody through a juvenile court order.
  • You are/were under state or tribal guardianship on your 18th birthday.

Youth previously awarded an ETV must meet all of the following criteria:

  • Must be under age 26 and have not received ETV for more than 5 years, and
  • Continuing to be enrolled in school, and
  • Making progress towards completing your school program.

How Much Money Can You Get?

The maximum amount per year is $5,000 per student. Youth must apply for other sources of financial aid as well. In addition to tuition, books and fees, education vouchers may be used for room and board, child care, transportation, computers, and other expenses the student may need to cover to make a post secondary education possible.

The amount of an education voucher award is based on the amount of other aid you are receiving and an estimated living expenses budget which is a part of the application.

What is the Application Process?

The application is available on the Minnesota Department of Human Services Education and Training Voucher website.
Students must reapply each year to be considered for ETV funds.

What is the Deadline?

ETV applications are accepted between July 1 and April 1. Students starting post-secondary education in the fall semester (July 1-Dec. 31), apply for the year and can receive an award of up to $5,000. Students starting spring semester (Jan. 1-June 30) apply for spring semester and receive an award up to $2,500. ETV awards are based on the student’s  need and the availability of funds.

For More Information

Visit the Minnesota Department of Human Services Education and Training Voucher website or contact:
Minnesota ETV Program Coordinator
Tel: (651) 431-6059

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view.

Download Adobe Acrobat Reader