## 4830.4000 SCOPE.

Parts 4830.4000 to 4830.4200 govern state financial assistance for students in postsecondary school who are dependents of prisoners of war and persons missing in action.

**Statutory Authority:** MS s 136A.111; 136A.121; 136A.132; 136A.141; 136A.233; 136A.70

**History:** 8 SR 196

Published Electronically: June 11, 2008

## 4830.4100 ELIGIBLE STUDENTS AND VERIFICATION.

- Subpart 1. **Eligibility.** To be eligible for financial assistance for dependents of prisoners of war and persons missing in action, all of the following requirements must be met:
- A. The student must be registered for an undergraduate program leading to a bachelor's degree or certificate of completion.
- B. The student must attend a school located in Minnesota. The school may be a state university, community college, public technical college, or the University of Minnesota. If the school is a private school it must be eligible to participate in the state student loan program according to part 4830.5100.
  - C. The student must be one of the following:
    - (1) the spouse of a prisoner of war or person missing in action;
- (2) a child born before or during the time the parent served as a prisoner of war or was declared a person missing in action; or
- (3) a child legally adopted or in the legal custody of the parent before and during the time the parent served as a prisoner of war or was declared a person missing in action.
- Subp. 2. **Verification of status.** In cooperation with the commissioner of veterans' affairs, a school must verify, on behalf of a student applying for assistance, that the student meets the requirements in subpart 1, item C. A prisoner of war or person missing in action means a person who was a Minnesota resident at the time of entering service of the United States Armed Forces, or whose official residence is within Minnesota, and who, while serving in the United States Armed Forces, has been declared to be a prisoner of war or a person missing in action as established by the secretary of defense after August 1, 1958. Verification must include the determination of residency. A discharge form, notarized statement from the student's parent, or other documentation may be required to show residency. In addition, a student may be required to provide a copy of a birth record, marriage certificate, or other document showing the student meets the requirement of subpart 1, item C. No situation, including return or reported death of the parent or spouse, can remove a person who qualifies as a dependent from the provisions or benefits provided by law.

**Statutory Authority:** MS s 136A.111; 136A.121; 136A.132; 136A.141; 136A.233; 136A.70

**History:** 8 SR 196; L 1987 c 258 s 12; L 1989 c 246 s 2; L 2001 1Sp9 art 15 s 32

**Published Electronically:** June 11, 2008

## 4830.4200 AMOUNT OF ASSISTANCE.

Subpart 1. **State-supported school.** A state-supported school shall waive full tuition and fees for an eligible student.

Subp. 2. **Private school.** A private school shall request payment from the office for each eligible student. The payment to the private school for each student shall not exceed \$250 per 12 months.

**Statutory Authority:** MS s 136A.111; 136A.121; 136A.132; 136A.141; 136A.233; 136A.70

**History:** 8 SR 196; L 1995 c 212 art 3 s 59

Published Electronically: June 11, 2008